Rainbow Six Siege ranks explained: All rankings and requirements listed

Rainbow Six Siege ranked details guide all ranksUbisoft

The ranked mode Rainbow Six Siege was revamped in Operation Solar Raid and everyone has to start from Copper every season. If you want to dive into the game’s ranks system, here’s a guide to everything you need to know in 2023, including tips on how to gain MMR quickly in R6.

Siege is a complex game and there’s no denying that fact. Even in quick matches with all the wall reinforcements, hidden angles, and gadgets flying around, it’s easy to get a bit lost in the chaos. It has a ranked mode which is not for the faint-hearted.

Article continues after ad

The ranked mode was recently revamped with the introduction of Ranked 2.0 in Y7S4. However, if you do want to get your competitive spirit on in the game, we’ve got all the tips and guidance you need to grind the ranks in Rainbow Six Siege, from Copper all the way to Champion.


An image of four characters in Rainbow Six SiegeUbisoft
Dig your teeth into Siege ranked with this guide.

When can you start playing Rainbow Six Siege ranked?

You can start playing Rainbow Six ranked once you hit level 50. Before then, you’ll have to grind it out in the quick match or newcomer queues.

Article continues after ad

Once you do reach ranked, you’ll be able to play in a longer “first-to-four” rounds format. If scores are all tied at 3-3 by the end of regulation, there’ll be a three-round overtime to determine the winner.

You’re allowed to pick the map you play on somewhat thanks to the map ban feature, and you can even take some of the stronger operators off the board with attacker and defender bans.

Rainbow Six ranked thermite dokkaebiUbisoft
You have to hit level 50 first before you can play ranked.

All ranks in Rainbow Six Siege

Icon Rank
Copper V
Copper IV
Copper III
Copper II
Copper I rank in Rainbow Six Siege Copper I
Bronze V
Bronze IV
Bronze III
Bronze II
Bronze I
Silver V
Silver IV rank in Rainbow Six Siege Silver IV
Silver III
Silver II
Silver I
rainbow six siege gold 5 rank Gold V
rainbow six siege gold 4 rank Gold IV
Gold III
Gold II
Rainbow Six Siege ranks Gold I Gold I
rainbow six siege platinum 5 rank Platinum V
rainbow six siege platinum 4 rank Platinum IV
Platinum III
Platinum II
Platinum I
rainbow six siege emerald 5 rank Emerald V
rainbow six siege emerald 4 rank Emerald IV
rainbow six siege emerald 3 rank Emerald III
rainbow six siege emerald 2 rank Emerald II
rainbow six siege emerald star rank Emerald I
rainbow six siege diamond 5 rank Diamond V
rainbow six siege diamond 4 rank Diamond IV
rainbow six siege diamond 3 rank Diamond III
rainbow six siege diamond 2 rank Diamond II
Diamond ranks in Rainbow Six Siege Diamond I
An image of the champion rank in Rainbow Six Siege Champion

Before the arrival of Ranked 2.0, each rank used to be decided by an MMR count. With Operation Solar Raid, these ranks are now divided into five divisions, and each of these divisions requires 100 Rank Points to advance to the next.

Article continues after ad

Ranked 2.0 also introduced a new rank Emerald that sits between Platinum and Diamond. You no longer need to play placement matches to unlock your rank every season. It resets every season, meaning you need to start from Copper while your your skill rating remains unchanged.

Seasonal ranked rewards in Rainbow Six Siege

At the end of each season, players will receive all rewards from every rank division, all the way to the highest rank they managed to peak. This includes charms, alpha packs, and card backgrounds. The charms are all pretty similar, featuring the Six logo, but with different variations based on the seasonal theme.

Article continues after ad

Currently, there are no plans to add any other ranked rewards, but we’ll keep you up to date if Ubisoft changes their mind.

Rainbow Six Siege ranked charmsUbisoft
Here’s an example of the Rainbow Six Siege rank charms from Crimson Heist.

How to rank up quickly in Rainbow Six Siege

It can be a pretty daunting experience jumping into Siege ranked for the first time. After all, it’s a complex game, and when the pressure’s on, it’s not for the faint of heart.

However, there are some things you can do that will help you learn the game and rank up quickly. Plus, as time goes on, you’ll become more comfortable.

Article continues after ad
  • Play meta operators: Don’t know who to pick? You can follow our guide to the best attackers and defenders for Year 8.
  • Be sure to review your gameplay: Not sure exactly how you lost? Want to look up that enemy strat? Match replay has been added and it’s very handy for just that.
  • Play with friends: If you have people you play with regularly and have built some synergy with, you can stack together to make the most of it.
  • Winning is all that matters: Don’t worry about farming kills, and don’t lament every death. Playing as a team will get you the win, and that’s all that matters for your MMR.

That’s all there is to the Rainbow Six ranked system. If you’re tired of just playing quick matches every day, this should hopefully inspire you to give ranked a crack ⁠— who knows, you might be the next Champion in waiting.

For more on Rainbow Six Siege, be sure to check out our Operator tier list, as well as everything we know about the upcoming spinoff Extraction. For more guides, take a look at:

Article continues after ad

Rainbow Six Siege Prime Gaming rewards | Cross-progression | Crossplay | Six Thorn guide | How to get Renown fast | Osa guide

Related Topics